cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1/2 ton Vs 3/4 Ton Chevy Road Test

evanrem
Explorer II
Explorer II
I tow a TT at the max for my Silverado 1/2 ton with a pro pride hitch that I have been using for the last 4 years. I have it dialed in and for the most part it does the job but could be better. I had the opportunity to borrow a GMC Denali 3/4 Ton Diesel for my last trip and the difference was amazing. The diesel has way more power which I expected but everything else was considerable better. So what is the biggest factor in making the tow experience so much better? I'm thinking its the additional weight of the 3/4 ton and the stiffer suspension but just guessing.
11 REPLIES 11

rbpru
Explorer II
Explorer II
The question really comes down to how much are you willing to pay for an improved ride and performance?

I am retired so perhaps 1/3 of my annual mileage is towing. Even at that I want a TV that is economical to drive, reasonable to maintain, a decent ride, easy enough for the DW to drive and a good match to our 25 ft. TT.

I have an F-150 E-Boost 4x4 which works just fine for my needs. It gets 19 to 20 mpg on the highway, 15mpg in the city, and 10 mpg towing. The service maintenance cost is no different than my DW’s van. It has a ride that is a bit stiff for the DW but she does not mind driving it. It is a good match to my TT but it is close to the max cargo limit.

I am sure others would feel a bigger beast would be better suited to the job and find the increase purchase and maintenance costs okay. It all comes down to how much do YOU want to spend?
Twenty six foot 2010 Dutchmen Lite pulled with a 2011 EcoBoost F-150 4x4.

Just right for Grandpa, Grandma and the dog.

Gryphonguy
Explorer
Explorer