cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

awning covers

dockmasterdave
Explorer
Explorer
I read a thread here several weeks ago about making your own awning cover out of PVC. I found a much lighter, much cheaper plastic drain pipe, cut about 25% out lengthwise. It snaps on and off easily, weighs about 1 pound, and has holes to allow the water to dry out, without the sun getting to my awning. Hope I load the pics right. This is my first try.
First time with photobucket. I copied the url but the image button isn't working. Any suggestions?

http://i960.photobucket.com/albums/ae83/dockmasterdave/awning%20cover/awningcover1.jpg

http://i960.photobucket.com/albums/ae83/dockmasterdave/awning%20cover/awningcover2.jpg
2014 F 150 ecoboost
2008 Chrysler Aspen
09 Amerilite 21 (modified)
2013 Bendron 14' enclosed cargo
2011 4x8 open cargo
25 REPLIES 25

memom
Explorer
Explorer
Like your idea. Save some $$ too more money to put towards fuel, Thanks

fla-gypsy
Explorer
Explorer
I'm going to give this a try. I am tired of cleaning the durn thing every time I want to go camping and the UV protection is fantastic
This member is not responsible for opinions that are inaccurate due to faulty information provided by the original poster. Use them at your own discretion.

09 SuperDuty Crew Cab 6.8L/4.10(The Black Pearl)
06 Keystone Hornet 29 RLS/(The Cracker Cabana)

just_me
Explorer
Explorer
I would cut the 25% from the area that would put the holes on the downward side.
A Ladder would be your best bet to install/remove this cover, you will have to be careful. And you'll just be putting it on when you are parked and in a storage situation, not using your rig. Other wise it should be off while you are going to camp. It would be great for wind protection while traveling if desired, if you anticipated high winds and awning damage.
95 Dodge CC #5 TST plate Flame Red/Silver
not totaly stock
2007 fiver
Tag Ma-haul has been suggested for a name but now The Shoe box