cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Can I put a little baking soda in my TT toilet?

TnCamperMama
Explorer
Explorer
Please don't laugh , but my toilet in our new to us 06 Hornet stinks to holy hell! We can't hook it up to water to flush it out until we take our first trip in a few weeks. I was wondering if I could sprinkle a little baking soda just around the rim of the toilet or a little in the tank. IDK what the previous owners used to help with the smell, but I got a good reccomendation on the pod things from an older camper pro at my local Walmart. I'll be buying them for this summer. If I can't put baking soda in it, can I put some plain white vinegar? I'm new to ownership, so please don't laugh. I just want the funk smell gone. I know to expect some, but its kinda bad! Thanks.
Proud owners of 2006 Keystone Hornet 31ft. BH. Camp with the DH, 2 DS, & Axel the Rottweiler.
http://thefrugalhappycampers.blogspot.com/
42 REPLIES 42

RoadXYZ
Explorer II
Explorer II
Last Summer we took care of the toilet odor by getting an RV Repairman to install a new vent atop the roof .. we had fought the smell for several weeks, then went to Amazon and ordered one of the twirly-type tank vents .. voila - smell gone ! The repairman we use doesn't mind us providing the parts ...
Full-Time RV'rs - Grandma Marji, and Grandpa
2008 Suburban / 2004 Alpenlite TT(FT)

TnCamperMama
Explorer
Explorer
My daddy was USMC {ret} and MS Nat. Guard Ret. before he passed in 2010. We are a VERY patriotic family!
Thank you very much on your compliments. We are sooooo excited!
Proud owners of 2006 Keystone Hornet 31ft. BH. Camp with the DH, 2 DS, & Axel the Rottweiler.

LBL_1206
Explorer
Explorer
read your blog and looked at the pixs of your camper.
good looking unit. have fun and enjoy.

saw a few references to military in your blog. retired army here! Hooah!

TnCamperMama
Explorer
Explorer