cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

chevy 4.8 engine

bbaker2001
Explorer
Explorer
someone came by to look at my 23 ft trailblazer TT for sale.
asked him what he has t pull it with. 2006 chevy with 4.8.

it did not come with tow package. he has put on a good hitch.
does not have tranny cooler yet.
trailer will be about 6300 loaded. he has a 1200 lb equalize hitch.
I am not sure if I want to sell it to him. any comments.

is the 1200 bars way to big??
BB from California
2015 Ram 3500
2001 Cardinal
best friend is my wife 🙂
8 REPLIES 8

Mark_and_Linda
Explorer
Explorer
Sale it...
Mark

poppin_fresh
Explorer
Explorer
I'm no lawyer, but "sold as-is, where-is on (insert day here) located at (insert location here)for (insert selling price here)". What happens after that is not your issue.

I had a 2007 with the 4.8 and it would probably tow that trailer safely, but not enjoyably. Would have been way under powered at anything over 55 MPH.
2016 Bullet 274BHS
2015 Silverado 1500 Double Cab
Andersen WDH

KD4UPL
Explorer
Explorer
I'd sell it. Wouldn't even have asked. What's it too you what he wants to pull it with. None of your business really.
However, if he asked for your advice on a tow vehicle that's a whole different story.

For what it's worth my Dad has a 2000 Chevy (I think) with the 4.8. When his 6,000 pound Bobcat needs service he loads it onto a 4,000 pound flatbed trailer and tows 6 miles to the dealer with his 4.8L.

fireman41
Explorer
Explorer
I used to pull a jayco 26BH with a Chevy that had a 4.3 . The 4.8 has 100 more HP I think it will be fine.

TomG2
Explorer
Explorer
I had a Silverado with the 4.8 engine. It was economical and quick, when empty. Towing a trailer almost killed it. Good that you are thinking of your fellow man instead of just the cash.

Bucky_Badger
Explorer
Explorer
I never ask what some one is doing with anything I sell. You want it you buy it
2010 F150 5.4, 3.55, 4x4, Equli-z-er Hitch