cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

F150 vs. Suburban?

smithlaw
Explorer
Explorer
Hi everyone. First post here. We just bought a 2017 Grand Design Imagine 3150BH travel trailer. It's dry weight is approx. 7500lbs. We bought it to pull with my wife's company 2012 Chevy Suburban (rated for gross of 9400lbs). We have pulled it twice and the Suburban definitely knows it is back there. It causes a little white knuckling some. We have the Blue Ox sway system installed, brake controller, etc.

I have thought about trading in my Audi sedan for a 2015 F150 (or similar 1/2 ton 4 door pickup). Would the F150 do a better job at pulling the camper or would it be worse? I know it has a longer wheel base but have also heard the 1/2 ton vs. 3/4 talk. I am hoping to get a good answer before taking those steps.

P.S. - Someone may say "get the F250 to be safe." But, I am an attorney and have to find parking in tiny little lots all of the time and I don't really want something that much larger to be my daily driver. And, I don't have the space, or the funds to have another vehicle altogether. Thanks in advance!
44 REPLIES 44

calsdad
Explorer
Explorer
How much does the new F150 that you're thinking of getting cost?

When you say the Suburban can feel the trailer back there - what do you mean by that?

If you mean that it feels down on power - there is a solution for that. It's called a Suburban/Yukon XL with a Duramax diesel swapped in.

But they're not cheap. What you're looking at is a used vehicle that's still going run somewhere in the $40k+ price range.

DaveF-250SD
Explorer
Explorer
smithlaw wrote: