cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hitch Questions from newbee

bradg
Explorer
Explorer
I have a couple of questions related to my weight distribution hitch system. I'm new to pulling a larger trailer.
1. I have a 2015 GMC Yukon XL with the HD Trailer package. Among other things, it has a air bags that automatically inflates/deflates when weight is applied/removed from hitch. Since it automatically does this, how is the weight distribution hitch properly adjusted. I'm afraid the person that installed it when I purchased the trailer didn't adjust it properly since the trailer would automatically level out the height of the back.

2. Related to that, I took my Yukon on the scales w/o the trailer and with the trailer. The results aren't exactly what I expected. I don't have the exact numbers in front of me, but I'll use approximate numbers. Without the trailer, the weight was 2800 Front and 2900 Rear. With Trailer it was 2400 Front, 4400 Rear and 6000 on Trailer axles. Am I wrong in figuring that if properly adjusted the weight distribution hitch should certainly not decrease the front axle weight that much and the two weights should be distributed a little closer?

3. They gave me 1 sway control. With a 29 foot trailer, should there be one on each side of the hitch? I heard somewhere there should be two if < 24ft.
Brad
11 REPLIES 11

APT
Explorer
Explorer
Turtle, WD % is near 50/50%. It would not take much weight in the rear to get OP's numbers.
A & A parents of DD 2005, DS1 2007, DS2 2009
2011 Suburban 2500 6.0L 3.73 pulling 2011 Heartland North Trail 28BRS
2017 Subaru Outback 3.6R
2x 2023 Chevrolet Bolt EUV (Gray and Black Twins)

APT
Explorer
Explorer
A couple more notes:

Front axle lost 420 pounds, rear axle gained 1460 pounds

Rear axle weight of 4400 pounds may be exceeding rear axle rating.