cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ideas to carry bikes

mrbreeze_az
Explorer
Explorer
I am looking for an inexpensive practical way to transport our bikes (3 of them). Our old TT had a receiver hitch and we hauled them behind on a bike rack, which I was never too crazy about. No way to monitor them. New TT does not have reinforced bumper. I was thinking of a rack that would attach to the truck bed rails allowing cargo in the bed (generator, water, firewood, etc.) I would like to see your solutions. BTW, I have seen the tongue mounted racks but not sure if this will work for me. Thanks
2017 Forest River Salem Cruise Light 261 BHXL
2005 F-150 Crew Cab 4x4 Lariat
30 REPLIES 30

astro-hilo
Explorer
Explorer
I'm trying these https://www.mount-n-lock.com/mnl-cargo-products/4square-safetystruts-prevent-bumper-failure one trip so far so good.

wowens79
Explorer III
Explorer III
Hopefully these pics work, it's my first time to try to add pics.

I wanted the bikes above the bed rails so I could put coolers, firewood, chairs etc in the bed. I had a popup at the time, so cargo space was needed.

I took the fork mounts like others have used, and bolted them to 2 pieces of angle iron I bought at Home Depot. I have 2 bars going across, the fork mounts are on one, and the back tire on the other. On the ends of the angle iron I put a 6" piece of the angle perpendicular to the long piece, and I put some stick on rubber pads underneath it to protect the truck. I bought some truck box mounting hardware the grabs the underside of the bed rail, and clamps down the rack. I use small bungees to keep the back wheels from bouncing around.

In the pictures, I lowered the cross bars down into the lumber slots in the bed so that my kayaks would fit on top. I've got to make some extensions for the kayak racks to make the bikes fit better.

I'll try to get some better pics of the racks this week.

2022 Ford F-350 7.3l