cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

installing 30 amp power at home

Pig-Smoker
Explorer
Explorer
I'm thinking of installing a 30 amp breaker box and run it from my garage to my camper. Should I use a 220 or 110 to supply the power for the 30 amp. I'm not really an electrician but this I can do , just not sure if the 220 would be too much and fry my converter.
2007 2500HD Chevy
2008 28ft Dutchmen
19 REPLIES 19

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad
Even if you pull big wire or just oversize conduit for the future.... I would still stick with a single 30a breaker and 30a RV connector so that no adapter is needed.

RoyB
Explorer II
Explorer II
My fear with getting professional help is alot of them never heard of RV's and how they are just a tad different then house wiring.

You really have to bring it up it is a RV not a house wiring situation. Then you kinda want to stay away from the brother-inlaw who knows house wiring for the same reason. Hopefully a BONDED licensed electrician will pay for all of the damage he may have done by wiring it like the house wiring is and blows up most of your 120VAC appliances with the first flip of the circuit breaker... "Do you smell smoke ?" It could add up dollar wise rather quick

One of these days I want to do the same thing but for now I am getting by just fine using two 10-gauge (10-3) HD contractor type 50-foot extension cords plugged into two different 120VAC 15/20AMP Receptacle circuits in the garage running out to my two trailers. I use the RV30A-15A adapter long adapter (WALMART) laying out in the middle of the yard and this powers up both RV trailers where i can run everything inside including air conditioner. I just have to watch what I have turned on at the same time otherwise it will trip the breaker in the garage.

just my thoughts
Roy Ken
My Posts are IMHO based on my experiences - Words in CAPS does not mean I am shouting
Roy - Carolyn
RETIRED DOAF/DON/DOD/CONTR RADIO TECH (42yrs)