Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

California Coast Suggestions?

mcashatt
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,

My name is Matt and I am new to RV'ing and new to this site. Last October, I bought a 1994 32' Damon Challenger Class A. We have spent the last several months gutting it and restoring all major systems and finishes.

Now it is almost as good as new and we are planning a 2-week trip for June.

We are from Phoenix and I have the first week of the trip planned as follows:

• Stop 1: Lake Hemet, CA
  • Stop 2: Malibu, CA
  • Stop 3: Sequoia National Park
  • Stop 4: Yosemite National Park

Now I just need suggestions for the southbound leg for the second week of the trip on our way back to Phoenix.

I was thinking that the California Coast between Los Angeles and San Francisco might have the most to offer, though I am a little nervous about driving southbound on highway 101 as I hear it is a shear drop off in some places.

Any thoughts on what to see & do / where to stop? With me will be my wife and three young kids (ages 5-9). We won't have a car in tow so that will limit us somewhat.

Monterey Bay Aquarium? Big Sur?

Thanks in advance!

Matt
16 REPLIES 16

bikendan
Explorer
Explorer
leesan wrote:
How about Pismo beach and El Capitan state beach near Santa Barbara You also have Refugio and Jalama county park Jalama is a Santa Barbara county park

i'm sure all those places are already booked up for June.

the OP is going to have a hard time finding anything on the beach for this June, since he hasn't made any reservations for the second leg yet.

to the OP, if you want to do the coast, you'll probably have to go more inland to find any campsites still available.
Dan- Firefighter, Retired:C, Shawn- Musician/Entrepreneur:W, Zoe- Faithful Golden Retriever(RIP:(), 2014 Ford F150 3.5 EcoboostMax Tow pkg, 2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255 w/4pt Equalizer and 5 Mtn. bikes and 2 Road bikes

leesan
Explorer
Explorer