cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Cost of PacBrake install??

jarbra15
Explorer
Explorer
Can anyone tell me what I should expect to pay to have a PacBrake PRXB installed?
Brad & Carol
2001 Dodge 2500,Quad Cab, LB,5.9CTD,Auto,3.54
2004 Cedar Creek Silverback LRLFS
15K Lil Rocker hitch
Tekonsha-Prodigy Brake Controller
6 REPLIES 6

dfb
Explorer
Explorer
1500 parts and labor.

WeBeFulltimers
Explorer
Explorer
I installed mine myself on my 2007 Ram 2500 5.9 automatic. I had access to a lift and it took about 6 hours. I am not a mechanic but am somewhat handy with tools. I sure did enjoy the PacBrake and the bonus of on-board for my air bags!
2012 Ford F-350 PSD SRW ** CURT Q24 ** 2018.5 MONTANA 3791RD

Durb
Explorer
Explorer
Labor was $297.50 June of last year. Turbo mount on 2004 1/2 Ram with 4" exhaust. Included compressor and air tank install. Took 3 1/2 hours. Glad I spent the money.

rhagfo
Explorer III
Explorer III
gkainz wrote:
on my '97, also had to upgrade the exhaust valve springs to 60# springs... I chose to upgrade both exhaust and intake springs, to balance the valve train ... at least in my mind. Did them myself so no idea what that would/will add to the cost.

yeah, like noted above, you probably need a controller to keep the TC locked. When I was shopping, there was ATS and TS Performance for automatic controllers. There's a number of articles online for making a manual switch.

The only part i paid for was welding the brake into the exhaust, as I no longer have access to a welder.

24 Valves don't require the valve spring upgrade. I installed my own in the driveway in an afternoon. You don't mention if your PRXB is turbo mounted or in the exhaust pipe. Mine was turbo mounted, a good shop should beable to do in about less than 5 hours.
Russ & Paula the Beagle Belle.
2016 Ram Laramie 3500 Aisin DRW 4X4 Long bed.
2005 Copper Canyon 293 FWSLS, 32' GVWR 12,360#

"Visit and Enjoy Oregon State Parks"

gkainz
Explorer
Explorer