cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hitch questions

troy_t
Explorer II
Explorer II
So we just got our new truck, a Ford F350 with the 6'9" box and 5th wheel hitch prep package. Our reason for upgrading trucks was to upgrade campers to a 5th wheel.
I've done some google searching and see a plethora of answers but my question on hitches is do I need to go to a sliding hitch or will a fixed hitch be fine? Still looking for the perfect camper but I'm searching for hitches so when we're ready to buy a camper we can go get it. It'll be a newer camper with the rounded corners if that helps.

Thanks!
14 REPLIES 14

Boy, I LOVE good finds like that ! ! ! !:C

I hope your as happy with it as myself , Jerry, The Fan Boy Prez, and all other B&W user all are ! !
Me-Her-the kids
2020 Ford F350 SD 6.7
2020 Redwood 3991RD Garnet

troy_t
Explorer II
Explorer II
Yes, you are correct. I have lots of experience pulling trailers and some were pretty big. Also grew up on a farm so I've been backing up equipment for 45 yrs. No worries there. Although I did get the corner of my 25' enclosed sled trailer into the corner of my truck once when we hit black ice at 60 and ended up looking the wrong direction on the freeway once.
As far as hitches, I found a lightly used B&W 3300 companion with the Ford pucks and am picking it up saturday. I appreciate all the good advice from everybody.

MFL
Nomad II
Nomad II
troy t wrote:
So we just got our new truck, a Ford F350 with the 6'9" box and 5th wheel hitch prep package. Our reason for upgrading trucks was to upgrade campers to a 5th wheel.
I've done some google searching and see a plethora of answers but my question on hitches is do I need to go to a sliding hitch or will a fixed hitch be fine? Still looking for the perfect camper but I'm searching for hitches so when we're ready to buy a camper we can go get it. It'll be a newer camper with the rounded corners if that helps.

Thanks!