Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with battery. Experience guy needed

Smoke90
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, (problem solved go the last thread)

As you know i am new to RV
My toy hauler came with a cumins 5500w generator.

On our past two dry camping adventure we experienced dead battery.

We only use the batteries for light, water pump and furnace fan.
I am not surprised to use all the batteries with furnace pump and light but i am surprised that a 3 hour drive (hookup to the TV) and then 2 hours run of generator is not enough to recharge the batteries.

My dealer is telling me that those deep cycle batteries needed at least 24 hours hookup to recharge the batteries

I don t get it?

Also if i buy a solar panels kit is a 100W kit enough?

Thanks
27 REPLIES 27

Smoke90
Explorer
Explorer
bkirkpatrick wrote:
If you can keep some sort of trickle charge on your batteries, they will last forever. Just replaced our 8 year old batteries that were on solar while in storage. Good job.

Very true in winter all battery are stored with a battery tender.
I did the same on a corvette than was stored for years and after 10 years a $60 battery from autozone still works

bkirkpatrick
Explorer
Explorer
If you can keep some sort of trickle charge on your batteries, they will last forever. Just replaced our 8 year old batteries that were on solar while in storage. Good job.

Dirtclods
Explorer
Explorer
If your plugged into your tow rig it should be able to start your generator.
AAA Motorcycle RV Plus

Smoke90
Explorer
Explorer
Just a heads up. I installed all LED (60) and the solar panel. Never had the problme again. We bonly use the generator for the microwave and can stay a week without having any issue.
When the RV is in storage and I come back to pick up after a month or more don t even need to charge it.
Best investment we did on the RV $200 for the solar panel and $300 for the LED

Smoke90
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks to all of you for these answers and guidances