cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Toy Hauler newbie

ACDNate
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a complete and total newbie. Never owned a TH before, infact have never owned an RV before until a week ago. I've always wanted a TH to drag with me to motorcycle race weekends so I wouldn't have to pay for the hotel room etc.

I stumbled across a deal to good to pass up last week so I jumped on it.

2002 Haulmark Elite II race trailer with factory "Escape Package"

Trailer is in overall good shape. Had a bunch of creative add ons from the previous owner that I have removed to return it closer to its original build that will work best for my needs.

All that being said I do have some questions that I need help with.

1. The battery isn't holding a charge. What do you all reccomend as a replacement for the existing house battery?

2. Two of the windows are leaking some. I found a video on youtube showing how to repair that with Butyl tape and silicone. The leak resulted in some bad paneling. The plan is to pull the paneling and replace it. I stopped at an RV shop and they recommended some stuff similar to what was in it, basically luan with a type of wallpaper on it.

I want something more water/moisture resistant. Any reccomendations?

3. It looks like my existing paneling was attached with staples and glue. Is that the correct way to re-install?

4. The existing 50amp service entrance is kind of flimsy when plugging in, is there a way to stiffen that up w/o having to tear all the cabinets out of the front of the trailer to get to it?

I'm sure I'll have more questions the farther i get into the clean up and restoration process. Thanks for any help you can provide.
48 REPLIES 48

ACDNate
Explorer
Explorer
Revivathread.

Have been using the camper here and there. Found a couple more issues that needed correction. The grey water tank valve wasn't working and a pipe upstream was loose.