cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Average cost of full time RVer

branden
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, my name is Steve. I am planning to become a full time RVer and would like to ask a question about cost. On the average per year what is the cost using a class A RV diesel? I would like the estimate to include camp ground and other expenses. You can probably tell I am new at this. I will retire in 2015 and we plan to travel the USA for about a year or so. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
31 REPLIES 31

msmith1199
Explorer
Explorer
BarbaraOK wrote:
branden wrote:
Hello, my name is Steve. I am planning to become a full time RVer and would like to ask a question about cost. On the average per year what is the cost using a class A RV diesel? I would like the estimate to include camp ground and other expenses. You can probably tell I am new at this. I will retire in 2015 and we plan to travel the USA for about a year or so. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

If only going for a year, why bother? I'm being serious, you can't possibly see all of the country in a year. We are in year #8 and still have lots to see and do. If only going for a year, that indicates that you are keeping the house - which means you are trying to do an extended vacation which usually leads to long hours on interstates and seeing very little. Not the way to fulltime. If you aren't willing to commit at least 3 years, just pick a few places you want to visit, fly there, rent a car, stay in a medium priced hotel, see the sights, fly back home, and save money.

Barb

Really? :h

2021 Nexus Viper 27V. Class B+

2019 Ford Ranger 4x4

Sprink-Fitter
Explorer
Explorer
StephJohn2010 wrote:
Sprink-Fitter wrote:
StephJohn2010 wrote:
We like full hookups, staying a month, eating healthy, and 3 or 4 (out of 5) star type private rv parks: (monthly figures)
$700 to $850 for site rent
$700 to $900 for eating out and eating at home
$200 for RV gas
$200 for misc