cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chassis Battery Maintenance - 2007 HR Vacationer XL

X12AEsq
Explorer
Explorer
This is a new to us coach, and I'm still learning all the vagaries. I have an original manual, but of course, factory support is mostly unavailable given the company's history. My Vacationer has two Interstate 31-MHD CCA950 batteries wired in parallel as the chassis batteries. I've been hooked to shore power for six months. I had thought that somehow would translate into maintaining the charge in the chassis batteries, but clearly that was wrong, since I needed a jump to start the engine this morning. I have seen (and used, on light trucks) new, computer controlled, charging systems that monitor the battery and deliver either a charge or enough to maintain a charge, depending on the state of the battery. Would such a device be a way to keep idle batteries ready? What might I do to allow the coach to sit for some months at a time not being run but still keep the chassis batteries in good shape?
9 REPLIES 9

randallb
Explorer
Explorer
You can hook your maintainer to one battery or the other. I hooked mine up with the positive lead on one battery and the negative lead on the other battery. Does it make a difference in charging? I can't say for sure but I had no problems with my batteries in the 4 years we owned the RV. Some will say that .75 A is not enough but mine spent most of the time with the green light on.
Randy

X12AEsq
Explorer
Explorer
randallb wrote:
We owned an 08 Vacationer XL and the fix to your problem is around $20.00. I used a Battery Tender Jr, .75A maintainer.

Did you leave the batteries wired in parallel and connect the charger across both of them them as a unit? I suppose since the batteries are in parallel, it doesn't matter if you connect the charger to the positive and negative pole of a single battery or positive of one and negative of the other?

bshpilot
Explorer
Explorer