cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Class C Weight Questions and Ride-Rite Question

BFL13
Explorer II
Explorer II
I am new to Class Cs and to Dually trucks, so have some basic questions from weighing it today.

Problem to start with is the scales were small, so one axle at a time only.

Question--is the total of the front and rear weights the same as the actual total weight? ( I am thinking there is a little weight from the other end adding in, so you get a higher than real total by adding the two--but that could be all wrong--so I am asking.)

In this case, Front 1630/3586 and Rear 3570/7854 so the total of those is 5,200/11,440 GVWR is 4,989/11,000

So I wonder if I am really over GVWR or not.

I also did one side at a time and the right front was more than the left front, while the right rear was less than the left rear but not by a lot.

It appears I am over RGAWR though.

RGAWR 3479/7672 and Scales 3570/7854

(RR was 1760 and LR was 1860 for total 3620 which is over the two sides measured together---which is why I am wondering about the total weight as in the question above on GVWR.)

The door specs say LT215/85R16D to 58 PSI but the rig has 16Es on it. I have them at 58 PSI. I could easily go higher on the rear dually Es. Do I need to? They are rated 1120 single and two makes 2240. left side was 1860 and right side was 1760 on the scales. So the tires could do it ok with that 2200 limit --I have not checked the tire tables for psi and the scale wts on the Es, so far.

The MH also has Ride- Rites for whatever reason some previous owner had. Perhaps he saw the above numbers in his day too?

There was no air in the bellows when I got this, and the instructions say minimum 20 lbs. It was level with no air in them. You are supposed to air them up till level. It was already level. So I have no clue-- I put 30 lbs in them and I can't tell if any different. Each bellows is the same height and within their height specs.