Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Coleman Mach thermostat ticking A/C won't come on

RVLady_net
Explorer
Explorer
1998 Winnebago Brave SE
Problem: AC compressor will not turn on. Coleman Mach thermostat ticks when in the a/c position. When first turned on, the compressor "thuds" like it wants to come on and then doesn't.It only makes the thud sound one time. Turning it on/off produces no noise.
Fan works great.
Plugged into shore power 110 - reacts same as when on genny (Onan 4000) 30 amps.
There is no start capacitor on this model.
Model No. 7335C896
Reset circuit breaker several times. No help there. But that can't be the problem since the fan works . . . right?
I've checked power on A/C unit itself, but can't get reading between C & R terminals with a/c unit either off or on. That said, I'm no electrician and may be using voltage meter incorrectly, but I don't think so. But having someone else check it today, as well, to confirm.
Question: is this a/c unit simply done or is it a thermostat issue? Is the fact that the thermostat clicks indicative of something?
10 REPLIES 10

RVLady_net
Explorer
Explorer
Your description of 'lock up' seems right-on. That's what it seems to do. It makes a noise like it 'wants' to come on and then locks up. Since the heat has abated in my area, I'm going to take a wait/see if any come up on sale! Thanks so much again. I have subscribed. The information you've provided is solid and I'm looking forward to learning more from you.

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad
RVLady.net wrote: