cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Driving tips - newbie here

live4thedash
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here - Have a 35 foot MH. Towing a small car. Searching various posts but unable to find any advice about when and how to shift to lower or higher gears. Recengly went for small weekend jaunt. Towed the car. used the "tow haul" button. Noticed when going down some small hills when I pressed the brake it felt like the engine would go to a lower gear all on its own. Didn't know how to get out of it. Also watched rpms climb...so again how do I get out of it when rpms get to high. Tried to downshift to 3rd but that seemed to push the rpms higher. Anyways...any info greatly appreciated...thanks..
23 REPLIES 23

Les_Balty
Explorer
Explorer
That V-10 is a great engine. I have had several different motorhomes and traversed mountain passes in Colorado with ease. The Higher revving V-10 takes a little getting used to sound-wise but it is governed. I downshift and save my brakes. Always use the Tow/haul when loaded heavy or pulling motorcycle trailer. I used to use the OD off function before tow/haul too. The F53 chassis is awesome. If I were getting a NEW RV to replace my DP it would be one of these. Let that V-10 sing and enjoy the freedom of the open road.
Les Balty

traveylin
Explorer
Explorer
I am not a fan of tow haul mode. I think it runs up the rpm unnecessarily and when you have the rpm already up at 4500 there is not much you can do manually to regain control running downhill. Speed control I will use on flat ground but finds that it hunts to much in hilly areas. I have checked my extended gas milage both ways and find that manual is equal to or slightly better than tow/speed control.
pops

wolfe10
Explorer
Explorer
frankdamp wrote:
I had the impression that the transmission in the V-10/F-53 rigs was a Ford-made unit, not an Allison.