cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

From Large TT to Class C

Hemling
Explorer
Explorer
Especially those of you who have gone from large (35+) TT to a Class C, what pros and cons can you share? My situation is that we currently have a large TT (38' hitch to spare) behind a Ford Excursion. Longer than a semi trailer on the road. Gas powered, so REALLY hard to find a gas station sometimes. Just not many that cater to a massive rig like mine. I've literally dropped the trailer in a WalMart and set the wife and kids loose while I gas up and come back to hitch back up. I'm planning on renting RVs in the 32+ range before I buy, because I think we need to stay with at least that amount of space, but what are your impressions about accessibility with a medium to large class C compared to a setup like my current one? I have no diesel experience at all, not opposed to them, but I find myself wishing I'd found a diesel X just for the ease of using diesel pumps at truck stops. I can't count the number of times I've stopped at a really nice looking station only to find the gas pumps very tight and the diesel pull throughs almost unoccupied. Most Class C RVs I've seen are gas. Anyone gone the class C route from a large TT and wished they hadn't? In 3-5 years we are probably making a change, just seeing what impressions are out there.
5 REPLIES 5

mbutts
Explorer
Explorer
We went from a 32' TT + 24' F-350 (crew cab, long bed). While we find the 32' class C we now have is SUPER easy to drive, back into sites, and set up/break camp, it does have a shortcoming. Riding as a passenger in the back in the dinette or the sofa is not as comfortable as riding in the backseat of the pick up. You're either in the meh cushioning of the meh dinette or sitting sideways on the couch.

In the time we've had the C, both kids have moved out and it's just the tow of us with the dog. If you have a carload in the back of X, you may want to reconsider getting a C.
Mike Butts