cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help, don't understand how the 12v system works.

volcomig
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, I am new to motorhomes and to this forum. I just bought an old ford econoline conversion campervan converted by van am era. My electrical accessories are the following: Fridge, propane heater (fan) and lights. These are connected to my auxiliary battery (I have 2 batteries). I have some 12v switch in the camper indicating on/off. When the engine is on, working no issues everything works, but I thought that if I plugged my camper in a house electrical outlet and turn that camper's 12v switch on, all the accessories would work endlessly. But no it is not related to the accessories. All that switch does is activate two outlets that are in the camper. There must be a way to plug the camper and make all the accessories work!! An extension cord with a power bar would do the same as that 12v switch. Just so you know the plug connect my van is a regular house size. 15 amps I assume. Please educate me.
11 REPLIES 11

924guy
Explorer
Explorer
Traveler7 wrote:

If your setup is similar to my van conversion 'HOUSE' switch is used when you are connected to city power and takes 12 volt out of the circuit, activates the charger, and powers any 120 volt outlets you have. At least that's how mine works.....

Hope this helps and apologize in advance if I misunderstood you!

it is possible, but if so, then i have another problem as my 12v system will not energize with the switch in any position when . it only powers on when hooked into 120v (with the switch in either position,) or if i jump out the switching circuit by bridging the coil relay near the house battery.. very odd.
Eric
92 Coachmen Class B, Dodge chassis
The War Wagon...
https://www.facebook.com/BedraggledClassBCampers

Traveler7
Explorer
Explorer
(((((((Hi all,