cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New owner Old RV

Travelcrafter
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all new to the forum, new to M.H. I have a lot of experience with the old tent and then my Coleman Pop Up. These days it's a little hard for me to hook up, set up, take down, the jest is; it takes the fun out of the game. I had been looking for a class B for a while when I ran into a 1977/78 Travelcraft 23'BB. on the Chevy G30 cutaway. The camper had been stored when not in use witch was Three to four times a year with only 19,550 miles on it. I had a chuckle or two as I've read of some of the very good advice told to purchasers of old equipment and thought I would share my experience with you. Hope I don't run on to much but I feel my experience may help others here that tend to take advice with a shrug and go on. My RV was/is in very good to excellent condition even with the low miles. the previous owners used to camp on family's property and stored close to same. The building it was stored in was hit by a tornado and thus some minor damage was caused to the RV, a dent in the finder and a small hole in the roof was cause for a salvage title. That meant a trip to the Ohio Highway Patrol for an inspection to allow me to register it as a salvage Rebuild which it passed with fling colors the morning of pic up day. The tires all 6 of them looked new and I questioned there age 6 years old, the spare had never been on the ground and I felt confident that things was in good order for my 110 mile trip back home. I drove the five or six miles out to the interstate with no problems what so ever and, was as giddy as if I'd bought a new Lambo or something. Got out on the highway and felt a little shimmy around 55 and was much worse at 65 so I backed off to 50-55. 20 miles out the inside drivers side rear tire had a catastrophic blowout my little sheltie about jumped out my window clearing the motor hump I'm sure by a foot. So there I am on Interstate 71 downt