cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Real Basic Question on Motorhome Construction

I-10bound
Explorer
Explorer
In general class C and A motorhomes are constructed as large "boxes", with a corner strip running along the 90 degree angles. How did this come to be the primary construction design of motorhomes? It just seems like water would eventually find it's way under that strip. Why don't motorhomes use a large, one piece topper, such those in Class B vans? It seems like that would hold up much better over time. Better yet, why don't they construct the whole outer shell of the house with fiberglass? Think of a motorhome version of a Scamp trailer. Maybe it wouldn't provide enough flex with the chassis, or something?

I'm new to motorhomes as you can tell, I'm just trying to understand the basics. Thanks.
9 REPLIES 9

monchichi6
Explorer
Explorer
duffy wrote:
I believe that the Born Free brand of motorhomes provides the best quality construction. We bought ours used because of that reputation and have not been disappointed. They hold their value big time.

I have a 1989 Born Free and love the fiberglass shell. I was looking at other brands but kept coming back to Lazy Daze and Born Free. Got lucky on a good price for the Born Free and so far so good! ๐Ÿ™‚

I did have to have the roof vents and such sealed. That was $1100. Had a mystery leak around the main roof vent over the living area. As it's mainly fiberglass, the fact they charged me for 10 cans of self-leving Dicor was suspect. But I just wanted it done. Better never leak again. At least for a few years at that price!

Happy travels all...

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
The construction techniques used are what is needed produce an RV that can be priced to sell a targeted number of units. The construction you describe is what you find priced to sell into the highest volume markets.