cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Would you replace the Hydraulic hoses?

Snomas
Explorer
Explorer
My 02 Dutch Star is getting old obviously. My question is would you replace the Hydraulic hoses (they run the fan and steering),they are the original hoses? I just replaced the heater hoses and my rad hoses are about 3 years old. Am I missing any other hoses that could fail? Just being cautious.
2006 WINNEBAGO ASPECT 29H Ford E450 Super Duty
2018 F150 Lariat Crew Cab, Coyote 5.0 L RWD
7 REPLIES 7

Born_To_Travel
Explorer
Explorer
Those two hoses are probably about at their mid-life in terms of age.. When I worked on buses for a living, When we got a new one in from the factory we would go over everything in the engine compartment, checking clamps and making shure that nothing was overlooked.. One important thing we did was look at all the hoses and look for any place they were rubbing on a bracket or sharp metal edge.. If one was found we would cut a section of heater hose 3-4" long and slice one side so it would slip over the hose and make a wear pad so it rubs on the edge instead of the hose, and secure it with a zip tie.. This saved many road calls...

anconn
Explorer
Explorer
DO you do your own maintenance or have a mechanic do it. If you have a mechanic do it he should be checking all of that regularly.
2002 Seabreeze 34' MH
2005 Jeep Liberty

1BryNelson
Explorer
Explorer
I suscribe to the theory of fixing wear items before they break. It's called preventive maintenance. Hate interrupting fun times because I was to lazy to fix or replace a part that was showing signs of wear. Bought my Moho with 64k miles on. First thing was a 100,000 mile severe weather service including all fluid hoses in egine compartment and all belts. On recommendation replaced front brake hoses.