cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

AT&T internet bundled with DirecTV

mikestock
Explorer
Explorer
If you haven't had to try to solve a problem with AT&T or DirecTV lately you're in for an experience. I have had DirecTV for 21 years and have mostly had good experience with problem solving, but I had a sense of dread when I read that AT&T was taking over DirecTV.

In February, while walking through Costco I met a lady selling AT&T internet and asked about bundling internet with my existing DirecTV account. I was upset because Spectrum was constantly raising my rate. The AT&T sales lady gave me a price of $40/mo. for internet and waived installation charge.

In reality this turned into a nightmare that has cost me 3 to 4 hours on the phone trying to get my bundling straight (or, at least that's what I thought). I set up auto billing and did check my payment monthly, thinking all was well. I ended up getting charged some up front charges but the setup was to refund all the charges during the first 6 months. I had a difficult time following the billing but I was only paying $115/mo. so I felt pretty happy.

This week I was got an email informing me that I was $85 overdue and had a total owed of $155.66. It referred me to my account which said I owed zero. The email stated that I must pay immediately or my service would be suspended. I asked how many months that $155.66 covered and was told it was for 2 months. I responded that I was promised $40/month for internet, bundled. And that's when the 4 hr. ordeal began. AT&T's phone links are all screwed up. I talked to a total of 8 people. Once I thought I was getting somewhere with someone who spoke decent English. Then the line went dead.

After 4 hrs. plus on the phone with people I couldn't understand I finally found that I actually had two accounts. One was DirecTV and the other was AT&T. They told me that I owed $155.66, due immediately or my service would be suspended.