Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

4 year old tires, but never used

Kyte
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here..

I bought (5) new tires last spring with the intention of mounting them early last summer. But because of house projects, never got to
it. Just now checked the tire date codes. surprise..surprise.

They are MAXXIS ST-205/75 R14 LRC
Date codes:

They average 3.5 to 4 years old. Always stored in doors. Wondering
if I could get 2 to 3 years out of them or should I sell them to a farmer for a hay wagon.

Thanks in advance.
Kyte in NW PA
15 REPLIES 15

tsetsaf
Explorer III
Explorer III
Our first trip out we had a blowout. Roadside tire shop only had older tires that had been stored inside... had to use them to keep moving on the trip. 300 miles later BOOM. Sure you might be okay or you might not; if it were my call there would be new tires installed.
2006 Ram 3500
2014 Open Range
"I don't trust my own advise!"

Led_67
Explorer
Explorer
Kyte wrote:
Newbie here..

I bought (5) new tires last spring with the intention of mounting them early last summer. But because of house projects, never got to
it. Just now checked the tire date codes. surprise..surprise.

They are MAXXIS ST-205/75 R14 LRC
Date codes:

They average 3.5 to 4 years old. Always stored in doors. Wondering
if I could get 2 to 3 years out of them or should I sell them to a farmer for a hay wagon.

Thanks in advance.
Kyte in NW PA

OK my understanding is that you bought the tires and did not mount them on any wheel correct. They have been stored indoors out of sunlight and away from any weather correct.
With those comsiderations I would agree with parkmanaa and use them but still keep an eye on the tires.
Good luck

fla-gypsy
Explorer
Explorer