cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Blind spots & washing your RV

SRQ_Suzanne
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to RVing. I have trouble in gas stations getting close enough to the pump. I have a 34' motorhome and am towing a Jeep. I have a rear view camera, which doesn't hep at all; and my side mirrors only show the sides of the RV behind the front wheels. How can I better judge my distance in front of the wheels between my RV and barriers. Last time I got gas, my awning strut got caught on a concrete post alongside the pump. I couldn't go forward, and couldn't back up - my worst nightmare. I had no choice but to disconnect the Jeep. However, it was at an angle to the RV, and it took two men, myself rocking the Jeep forward and backward an inch at a time, and a crowbar to get the hitch removed from the ball. I thought I was going to be stuck there! Is there any after-market side camera system I could purchase; or is there another way to resolve this issue. I need help fast before my next trip!

Also, is there a place I can take my motorhome to be washed - where do commercial/recreational vehicles go for a quick wash when traveling? Many campgrounds do not allow for washing your RV. Do truckstops along major highways provide this service?
11 REPLIES 11

jamnw
Explorer
Explorer
Always take it slow. You may irritate someone to the point they yell at you, but in the end YOU are the one who has to drive the rig safely.

It can be difficult at times, I know, but don't let anyone or anything rattle your nerve.

All of us mess up. That's why they invented tow trucks!