cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Installing a clean out at home

Smoothio
Explorer
Explorer
Iโ€™m having a slab and hookups put in my side yard for RV parking. The clean out will tap into the sewer system from my property in CA. I want to make sure the Contractor is doing it right, so asking for guidelines from the group around:
1). How far away should the clean out be from the rig (away from the rig and/or downstream)? This is my most important question
2). Is there a pipe thickness/material I should be requiring?
3). For the hose hookup, is there a kind/brand I need to mandate?
4). Tips to make sure it doesnโ€™t stink (like threaded cap, any shapes/slope I need to look for, etc.)
44 REPLIES 44

wrktfsh
Explorer
Explorer
Ski Pro 3 wrote:
WTP-GC wrote:
OP, as a contractor, I would not like that you hired me to do a job and then went onto a random Internet forum to verify the quality of my work or choice of materials. If you came to me (the professional) and told me that a faceless, nameless internet somebody said that I was doing it wrong and suggested a better way of doing it, I'd walk off the job. The nature of questions you're asking suggests that you don't know anything about the work taking place, so be mindful of that when you offer advice to your contractor. There's an old saying...if you can't dazzle them with your brilliance, then baffle them with your BS. It would in your best interest to let the contractor do their job without telling them how it should be done...in this case.

Amazing how so many contractors forget who the boss is.
(hint; it's the guy writing the checks)

Any good contractor would be happy that their customer is interested enough to stay involved and would take the time to address their concerns.

And I'm not just picking on contractors, this goes for doctors, mechanics, etc. If I'm paying the bills, I'm dang sure going to verify I am getting the best product possible.