Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

My first TV and trailer setup...

Kingofthecove
Explorer
Explorer
Hi All,
First, great Forum! Spent the last several hours looking around, and the information/advice is first rate. Apologies in advance for my first post being a novel.

I'm a trailering noob, but not a camping/RV noob, having camped and traveled around in Class Bs and Class Cs since the mid 70s. Soonour youngest will leave the nest, and the wife and I will be travelling at least 1/2 time, and maybe even become "full-timers" someday. But not in the real sense, as she will never give up our home.

We have discussed, for years, what "set-up" we want to use in this next phase of our lives, be it Class A, B, C, or, a trailer or fifth.
To that end, we decided to get our feet wet and try trailering. We already had a truck (1998 Ford F250 Lariat, 5.4L V8 Triton, 3.73 rear, tow package, tekonsha brake controller, Leer canopy). Yeah, it's the "weird" one with 7 lugs and all that, but it's a nice ride, and has been a great truck.

I did some preliminary homework to determine what I could comfortably tow, and found a real clean 2008 Layton Trailer, with a floor plan she liked....it's 25+ft long, with the "house being 22+ ft long, dry weight is 4,000lbs.

Installed a WDH, which moved 250+ pounds from the Ford's rear axle to the Front axle. (I towed it around a bit with a standard hitch...........it's not nearly as "comfortable" as the WDH, to say the least.) Put new tires, bearings, and brakes on the trailer, dialed in the Tekonsha, inflated the truck tires to 75lbs rear and 65lbs front ....(they are rated at 80lbs pressure, 3042lbs carrying capacity).