Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Tips for people with back pain

AlexCaro
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, everyone!

I love to travel and spend time somewhere outside the city. Unfortunately, the past years have been a disaster for me because I can't spend a night without my bad. I used to work as a carpenter, got a back injury, and now suffer from lower back pain. It's very hard to spend more than 6-7 hours in the car. I even tried using a massage seat covers, but it didn't help. My therapist advised me to buy a good pillow that I can use in the car during a trip. Maybe you have the same problem and can suggest any tips to make a car trip easier to 'survive'?

Regards, Alex
16 REPLIES 16

Stevebx
Explorer
Explorer
For years now I have used a rolled up towel- hand towel size, roll up tightly the long way, secure the ends with rubber bands - I place it across my lower back, very low, which helps a great deal when I drive. I tried all the seat cushions, back cushions, you name it and they didn't work. My truck seat has adjustable lumbar, and that doesn't help. The simple rolled towel does the trick and you can adjust its location every so often to alleviate any pain. I think a PT gave me that idea. I stop every two hours so the dog and I can get out and stretch, which also is important. Good luck, I know how miserable back issues can be.
Steven Brewer

AlexCaro
Explorer
Explorer