cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Running AC off of my home's current/Please Respond

Olive600
Explorer
Explorer
I've been told that running the AC for my 2005 B Touring Cruiser Gulfstream off my house current can burn out the AC's air compressor. I've also been told that's not true, that the worst that will happen if there isn't enough current is that a fuse will blow. Unfortunately the difference of opinion has turned into some very bad feelings between friends. I'm still shaking. Please help me understand if you can. I'm new to all this. Evidently as an older, single woman I will be lied to and cheated at every turn. At least that's what I'm being told. (Yes, I'm so upset that I'm sniveling 8-) )

Thanks
41 REPLIES 41

powderman426
Explorer
Explorer
I run my 13.5 off of a 20 amp circuit all the time with no problem. I am not saying its what you should do, but it works for me.
Ron & Charlotte
WD8CBT since 1976
32' Gulfstream Ameri-Camp & 05 Ram QC LB

I started with nothing and I still have most of it left

I never fail, I just succeed in finding out what doesn't work

Olive600
Explorer
Explorer
HiTech wrote:
Also it looks like your unit came standard with an 11,000 btu AC or optional 13,500. Do you know which you have? 11,000 would be easy peasy on a good 20 amp circuit IMO, but it would not hurt to have a master electrician out to look at your wiring and plug and tell you if it would work or what it would take to give you an outlet capable of doing what you want.

Jim

Jim, I don't know what size the AC is. I'll do the research. Thanks.

Weasel1USA
Explorer
Explorer