cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Solar Panel Wiring

Passin__Through
Explorer
Explorer
Is regular automotive primary wire suitable for use between a solar panel and the charge controller? I am installing two, 100-watt poly panels on the roof of my 5er, running the wires down a holding tank vent pipe, then to the controller. My plan is to wire the panels in parallel, then utilize the 10AWG automotive primary wire after the Y-connector.

My thinking is that automotive primary wire would be easier to work with as it is more flexible than the wire coming from the solar panels. It is also much less expensive than solar panel extension wire. I am aware I will need male and female MC4 connectors for the primary wire.

I have never done this before, so thank you in advance for your sage advice.
2008 Chevrolet 2500HD Duramax 4x4 CCSB; Superglide 16k hitch w/3" lift kit; Titan 52-gallon replacement fuel tank :C
2007 HitchHiker II LS 26.5RLBG Mor/Ryde pinbox:B
16 REPLIES 16

westend
Explorer
Explorer
Passin' Through wrote:
MEXICOWANDERER wrote:
Remember to use only black cable ties and black plastic clamps. They withstand sunlight and heat a lot better.

Thanks for the tip.

I happen to have a roll of Eternabond on the way. What do you think of using some of it to secure the wires to the roof between the panels and the vent I will use to route them to the basement? The run to the vent is about 3 feet.
You need to secure the wire so wind/ travel speed doesn't interfere with it's positioning. Eternabond will probably hold MC4 down to an EPDM sheet, especially a short run of 3'. There are wire clamps,holders that could be fastened to hold the wires but I understand the fear of putting even a small hole through the membrane. I would have no problem with that since there are such good sealers available and aren't the brackets for the panels fastened through the membrane? That's just rhetorical.
'03 F-250 4x4 CC