cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lance vs Jayco

ERnurse16
Explorer
Explorer
Good morning everyone! I am looking to buy a travel trailer and begin enjoying some weekend trips away from home. I have a Toyota 4runner with GVW towing of 5000#. I have always pulled trailers (horse and cargo) with double axles so that is what I am most comfortable with and am looking for the same in my travel trailer. I had narrowed down my options to the Jayco 22 FQSW and the Lance 1685. Both of their weights are 5500# but I will not be loading to the full cargo weight. They both are double axle with a small slide. I don't need a ton of space as it will just me my mother, myself, my infant daughter and my Golden Retriever but I'd like a slide to give just a bit more space. I'm looking for any tips, advice, thoughts on the trailers, etc. I have never RV'd before so I am completely new to this. Thanks in advance and I look forward to any help.
14 REPLIES 14

ctilsie242
Explorer II
Explorer II
Were I to do it all over again, I'd probably go with a Livin' Lite trailer. Its "space station" interior may put off some, but I like the fact that rot isn't an issue with it. It likely will be still be on the road well after a lot of other units have turned into scrap metal.

Clockman
Explorer
Explorer
I have a Lance 1685, and its weighs about 5000lbs loaded, I tow it with a chevy 2500 and I can feel it back there! Forget about it with your 4-runner! You need the new Lance 1475 or Lance 1575 maximum!

2012Coleman
Explorer II
Explorer II
Look at your door jamb where it says total weight of occupants and cargo should not exceed xxxx lbs. Post that number.
Experience without good judgment is worthless; good judgment without experience is still good judgment!

2018 RAM 3500 Big Horn CTD
2018 Grand Design Reflection 303RLS

mikakuja
Explorer
Explorer
Have to agree with the above, what you are looking at is too heavy. Otherwise the Lance would be my choice.