cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Leveling TT

B-52G
Explorer
Explorer
I have been pulling 5th wheels for the last 10 years and have went back to a travel trailer. I am having a heck of a time getting it level. Seems I get it level disconnect get it level up and down and put the slide out and we notice a day or so later it is of to the slide side. My question is could the slide be causing the trailer to be unlevel to that side when we put it out. Never had a problem with it on or last 5th wheel, but it had 2 slides on different sides.
18 REPLIES 18

Rustycamperpant
Explorer
Explorer
gmw photos wrote:
Yep, on my travel trailer if it's exactly level when I park, then I know I need to run the streetside tires up on a couple pieces of 3/4" plywood I keep in the truck for that.

Extend slide out and it's now perfect left to right.

Here is my silly reason for getting it level: if it is slightly down on the streetside, I get a small puddle of water in the galley sink. Get it level and it all runs into the drain.

Not so silly to me, I purposely have the hitch slightly high and street side slightly low so water flows the right direction in the tub/shower. 🙂
2009 Ford Expedition EB, 3.73, Equal-i-zer
2015 KZ Sportsman Showstopper 301BH

B-52G
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks everyone one for the advise. Going out tomorrow and will try some of it and see how is goes.

RedRocket204
Explorer
Explorer
afidel wrote:
RedRocket204 wrote:
rbpru wrote:
I was told the frig needs more than a 3 degree of tilt before it has problems.

If true, that sounds like a significant tilt to me.

Agreed.

Some more food for thought... I leave my fridge running on propane while traveling and I've gone over 10 degree grades and the fridge continues to run.

Now, I'm not condoning letting the fridge run for long stretches at such an angle but I question the "degree" of debate that goes on about making sure things are perfectly level for the fridge.