cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Refrigerator problems

interceptor15
Explorer
Explorer
I've been lurking for a while. I'm brand new to RVs this year and have learned a ton of stuff from this site. Thank you to all who contribute.

I purchased a new 2015 Skyline Ecocamp 20BH this spring. The refrigerator didn't feel very cold the first time we used it, so I purchased a thermometer and stuck it in the refrigerator. As we thought, it would only get to 55 degrees. The freezer would get to about 5 degrees. We run the refrigerator on electric 90 percent of the time.

So we took it back to the dealer and in the meantime, used our refrigerator like an ice chest, packing it full of ice to keep it somewhat cold.

The dealer has had it 5 weeks, and I go grab it on the weekends to use it. They have pulled out the refrigerator 4 times, added baffles, moved the refrigerator, insulated around the refrigerator, added an exterior fan, and supposedly just replaced the cooling unit. The dealer said they have spent 5 hours alone on the phone with Dometic and Skyline. I picked it up Friday and they said it was finally fixed and at 37 degrees.

I took it out this weekend. Packed with 4 gallon size bags of ice and 7 frozen water bottles, as well as all the usual cold drinks, the refrigerator would only get down to 50 degrees. The freezer was cold as it should be.

I just got home and have had it plugged in for 8 hours after having it unplugged for about an hour to get home. My refrigerator thermometer says 60 degrees. My infrared thermometer reads 59-64 degrees. The freezer reads 4-9 degrees.

Does anybody have anymore ideas? Do I need to be running the refrigerator on gas instead of electric? Is there anything else they can replace? I love the trailer and everything else works just as it is supposed to with no issues.

Thanks for any ideas.
10 REPLIES 10

interceptor15
Explorer
Explorer