cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

West Texas

SALTYDOG5435S-T
Explorer
Explorer
I finally got to use my camper the way I wanted. I have been telling my wife, Lorna, that we could use the camper for work and be able to see some different areas of Texas as well. I am a land surveyor and she has retired from teaching. She is now my #1 helper.

I was awarded a project that required me to visit 12 sites. 5 were close to the house and did not require any overnight stay. These were done first. Next were 5 in the Valley. This is the area close to the Rio Grande River. I did have two sites in the Panhandle, but they would be last.

After we completed the field work on the close sites, it was time to head south. We had stops in Raymondville, Harlingen, Weslaco, McAllen, and Rio Grande City.

At the Rio Grande City Site, I took this picture of the Rio Grande River. Lorna has never seen the Rio Grande.

We then headed to Falcon State Park. It was not crowded and a good place to unwind.

The view out our back door.

The lake and Mexico

It is still low but it did look like people were using it.

We decided to check out the Butterfly Gardens at the Park.

I did manage to get a couple of pictures to play with.

Then it was back to Beeville for one night to take care of another client. Then on to San Antonio for a Baby shower. It was for our second Grandbaby. She is scheduled to bless us all on July 29th. C-section.

This portion of the trip was all business. We did not do very much site seeing. I just wanted to get the bulk of the project done. I did find a couple of areas that need to be revisited and we will be going back. At a much slower pace.

On the Sunday after the baby shower it was time to head to the panhandle. Our first night was at the San Angelo State Park. This lake is just a little low:

That is the dam across the top of this picture.