cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Monoco Knight

Sargehut234
Explorer
Explorer
DW and I are looking at a 2012 Monoco Knight, it is 42" with cummins eng. 7k 3 slid. lookin for average price range.
7 REPLIES 7

mtofell1
Explorer
Explorer
Aren't all the problematic Ford Superduty diesels (F250/F350, etc.) made by Navistar?? I'm new to looking around at DP but in tow vehicles the Ford diesels are avoided by many.

gswcgi
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2003 Safari built by Monaco. I dealt with Navistar at the Monaco factory in Coburg, OR for service. After that experience I wouldn't go near anything that Navistar had to do with it!! They were totally tone deaf to the RV world and RV owners. Their trucks may be great but they never understood the RV market and in my opinion didn't care to learn.
'03 Safari, DP, 36" Nissan 4X4 toad

Trap
Explorer
Explorer
steveownby wrote:
DSDP Don wrote:
Sarge....Can't help you on the price, but I would double check what engine is in it. In 2012, Monaco was owned by Navistar and they were using Navistar engines. They're a good engine, but I would personally not buy a coach with one in it. They are an orphan when it comes to the type of engines available in RV's.

Sarge is correct. According to the Monaco brochure, the '12 Knight had a Navistar MF10 engine. So did the '11 Knight.

It's true that Monaco was in flux during that time period. I would eyeball the engine or call Monaco tech support with the coach number and ask.

If it's a Cummins engine, be aware that in was built in '09 or earlier. It will have a DPF system but not a DEF system. The MF10 engine will have a DPF but the Navistar engines of that period were sold by paying EPA a fine for each engine sold because they never passed the EPA '10 requirements.