cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unscientific Opinion Poll

RetiredNavy
Explorer
Explorer
I have noticed a large number of RVers who pull into a campground and immediately hook up their sewer line and open the black dump valve and leave it open for weeks at a time. I have been RVing for 15 years and when I bought my first rig, I was told to wait until my black tank was 2/3 full before dumping. Leaving the dump valve open lets the water and liquid go out, but the solid waste tends to build up in the tank. I don't need to describe the potential problems. Plus using the gray tank AFTER dumping the black tank helps to flush out the sewer line. Has the logic for this changed over the years? You can POSSIBLY leave the gray tank open (it is just soapy water usually) but NEVER, NEVER leave the black tank open. Is that still a good rule to follow?
Thanks in advance.
Terry & Nancy
Retired Navy

2016 Coachmen Concord
300DS Class C Motor Home
27 REPLIES 27

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
I've never left the black valve open. After once getting sewer flies, I no longer leave the hose hooked up. Hook up briefly to dump only.
Tom Test
Itasca Spirit 29B

Flarpswitch
Explorer
Explorer
One of many bad habits of new and seasoned RVers. I know of one guy that found out what happens if you leave the valve open. Lesson learned. Maybe this is a self-correcting problem. But, then again some people don't learn from experience. The afore mentioned RVer also discovered what happens when camping in freezing temperatures. That adds a whole other dimension to the mundane task of dumping the tanks.
Steve

Butch50
Explorer
Explorer