cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cutting Andersen Levelers.

thirtydaZe
Nomad
Nomad
My FW has a narrow wheel base, i need to cut my Andersen Levelers to make them operate as they should.

Those of you that have had to cut theirs, how much did you cut off, what did you use for the job?

I see where they say you can cut 4" off, however in doing so it looks to create around an inch and a half edge, are you filing this flat?

Lastly, after cutting, are you finding that when you use your levelers, that it overcorrects, as in, once you cut 4" off, you lose the ability to correct minimal changes in levelness?
2019 Jayco Eagle HT 324BHTS
2024 Ram 2500 68RFE
7 REPLIES 7

RVcircus
Explorer II
Explorer II
I cut an inch or two off with a sawsall and didn't bother prettying it up. I've been using it that way for a few years and it's been great.
2000 KZ Sportsman 2505 (overhauled & upgraded 2014)
2016 Chevy Express 3500 15 passanger van
6 humans, 2 cats, and a dog
Visit our blog at www.ROWLESmade.com
Our trailer re-build thread

thirtydaZe
Nomad
Nomad
my issue is, if i put a full size leveler at my front wheel, if i drive over it, it presses directly into the rear wheel. if i attempt to use a full size leveler for the rear wheel it won't even fit between the wheels to get it started.

this past weekend, i put a leveler at my front tire, and was going to just back off of it, however since the rear of my tire was chocked, on the opposite side, the camper was essentially stuck.

i was finally able to pull forward just enough to free it, but by chance you pull to far forward, you get the leveler wedged under the front tire, and pressing very deeply into the rear. trust me i know from experience. it's not a pretty site, and you could essentially just be stuck.
2019 Jayco Eagle HT 324BHTS
2024 Ram 2500 68RFE

gaymeadowsman
Explorer
Explorer