cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

The C we want has no attached roof ladder...

standup
Explorer
Explorer
Found a Sunseeker that has all we need, but no attached ladder, due to a rear slide. Gotta figure out real soon, b4 it's sold, if there are any suitable alternatives to getting on to the 10' roof, like a collapsible that's sturdy enough for a 62-year-old. Thanks for any ideas/experiences!!
14 REPLIES 14

ol_Bombero-JC
Explorer
Explorer
wa8yxm wrote:
Having been something of a ladder monkey in my youth.. I would say "GOOD" to an RV with no attached roof ladder, in fact I cut mine off, Here is why:

1: The standard RV roof ladder is a featherweight,,, Now.. a 10 year old it might hold but 300 pounds of sixty year old.. NOT A CHANCE of it holding up the way they mount them.

Second, it is a vertical ladder, very hard to climb, not a bit like a slanted ladder that I used professionally when I did roofing for a living.

What would I recommend,, or to be more precise what do I use?

Well, many moons ago my Dad (May he rest in peace) got a convertable step/extension ladder from Sears. That is what I use when I need to get on the roof as it is long enough (Just) to be a proper roof ladder, Way easier to get on and off and to climb,, But you do need to be careful that it does not blow over unless you have a ground crew.

It also comes in handy (Step mode) for washing and waxing.

For lesser jobs I may use my Telescoping ladder. it is NOT long enough for use as a roof ladder.. but it is still very handy. Collapsed it will fit in at least one suitcase I have. (Provided I remove the portable recording studio first).

Excellent advice and observations!

Spent 30 years climbing ladders.

"Modified" for RV use:

A proper "climbing angle" is to stand at the base of the ladder, when you reach out to the ladder a rung should be at (approx) arm's length away from you - at shoulder height.