cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temperature gun for brakes and bearings?

Jvandererlip
Explorer
Explorer
Is anyone using a temperature laser gun to monitor brakes and bearings?
I'll be hitting the Smokey Mountains in the spring towing a travel trailer. I thought it would be good information to have.
What number values should I be looking for as a maximum?
I'm an airline pilot and I constantly monitor brake temperature while taxiing. It seems really strange not to have that information available. Do any trucks or big rigs display brake temperature?
28 REPLIES 28

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
I ran out a bearing last month that looked like frosty the snowman. An IR gun would have told me it was cold!
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

deltabravo
Nomad
Nomad
Fordlover wrote:
I have a Fluke IR temp gun I really like. But I rarely think to use it, so perhaps your post will remind me next time I'm towing.

Ditto.

Fluke is kind of spendy, but I love mine.

There's lots of less expensive alternatives, especially at Harbor Freight.

Bearing / hub temp is what I mostly check.

2010 I had a flatbed trailer that kept eating tires and smoking bearings at one wheel position. Temp gun was very useful on that trip.
2009 Silverado 3500HD Dually, D/A, CCLB 4x4 (bought new 8/30/09)
2018 Arctic Fox 992 with an Onan 2500i "quiet" model generator

Lynnmor
Explorer
Explorer
shum02 wrote:

Say what you will that it should not happen if you've done PM but Mr Murphy can show up at any time and prove you wrong. $20 for one of this units is some pretty cheap insurance in my world.