cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Motorhome hitch receiver has play in it

becker
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 08 Monaco Dynasty..... the hitch is rated at 10,000 lbs.... I have a Roadmaster Blackhawk All Terrain 2 Towing system.... when I slip my Roadmaster hitch bar into the receiver on the coach, there is a little play left to right.... very little, maybe 1/16 to 1/8 inch.... a poster on this blog had the same problem.... he solved it by using another type of lynch pin.... after you inserted it you tightened a nut and it held the tow bar very tight in the receiver and it eliminated the play in the hitch (I may not be explaining the lynch pin correctly).... my question is: has anyone had this problem and solved it in this manner? Thanks
2008 Monaco Dynasty, 42ft, 4 slides, 425hp clean air Cummins diesel
2013 Jeep Sahara 4-dr w/M&G Braking System
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2 All Terrain Towing System
30 REPLIES 30

Bigdog
Explorer
Explorer
Effy wrote:
et2 wrote:
This is what some use ( we do). It works, in use for 4 years, no play. No drilling or tapping required. Just re-torque once a year.

http://www.blueox.com/towing-accessories/bx88224/

Did I read that right? $70 ? wow.

agreed. Wow
Kinda like buying the XL5050 mufflers.
GO COUGARS
2001 Tradewinds 7390 LTC
330 Cat Turbo Freightliner Chassis
2011 Jeep Liberty(toad)

'88 Mustang 5 Spd 5.0L GT convertible (not Toad)

Effy
Explorer
Explorer
et2 wrote:
This is what some use ( we do). It works, in use for 4 years, no play. No drilling or tapping required. Just re-torque once a year.

Did I read that right? $70 ? wow.
2013 ACE 29.2

et2
Explorer
Explorer

Bigdog
Explorer
Explorer
I just got some of the wood shims from Home Depot and put them in and it works great. I don't worry about being able to get the tow bar hitch out as I never do that anyway.
GO COUGARS
2001 Tradewinds 7390 LTC
330 Cat Turbo Freightliner Chassis
2011 Jeep Liberty(toad)

'88 Mustang 5 Spd 5.0L GT convertible (not Toad)