Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Pulling a Nissan Altima

chaeworld
Explorer
Explorer
I own a 2003 Winniebago Minnie Winnie 29B I have owned it for almost 2years
The original owner pulled a trailer with antique cars on it.
We have just inherited my Mother in Law's 2003 Nissan Altima.
It is a automatic I know a tow bar would be the best way to pull it but to spend $4k for a tranny pump doesn't seem economical.
What would be best a dolly or a trailer?
The Altima weighs 3100 LB the hitch is rated at 3500 LB would I be in towing trouble?
Does anyone have experience pulling with my model or close Winnebago?
Has anyone towed a Nissan Altima?

Chae
6 REPLIES 6

chaeworld
Explorer
Explorer
Tom Thanks!

I will have to check the ratings again on my hitch.
I know all too much about the overhang. I am glad I am a former truck driver.
I can see pulling a Ranger would be a whole lot like pulling a Altima
Putting on a heavier hitch isn't a problem. I was worried about the weight ratio.
I was also worried about pulling the RV apart.
I know the original owner was pulling a Model T around with a car hauler going to car shows.
The RV seems to have held up but I have wondered about something chronic showing up because of it..

Chae

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
2004 29B, hitch was up-rated that year to 5000 pounds but still 350 limit on tongue weight.

I now flat tow a manual transmission Honda Fit (about 2500 pounds).

Before that flat towed a manual transmission 2001 Ford Ranger (regular cab Edge trim, about 3200 pounds). The Ranger was heavy enough to push around this RV on very tight curves (e.g. marked 15-20 mph) if I tried to take them close to the marked speeds. 29B model has a very long rear overhang in proportion to the wheelbase, you have to tow gently.