cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1980 Pace Arrow, Dodge 440 belt diagram

JoshAndBrandi
Explorer
Explorer
I just got a deal on a fixer-upper 1980 Pace Arrow with a Dodge 440 in it. I'm not a professional mechanic, but I do ok making my way around replacement parts, etc.

When I got the RV there was a broken belt in the cab. There is another belt that looks like a bypass for the A/C, but it doesn't look like it's doing much of anything good. I drove the 40 miles home, and now I'm trying to piece things back together on it.

Does anyone know where I can find a belt diagram for my motor? The plate that is supposed to tell the chassis is long-gone, so I'm mostly guessing on this. The plate on the motorhome says it was manufactured in 1980. I would assume that the chassis is a year older.

So, where can I find a belt diagram for a 1979 Chrysler 440 Big Block? Thanks in advance guys!
3 REPLIES 3

turbojimmy
Explorer
Explorer
JoshAndBrandi wrote:
Thanks Richard. I found that one as well, but it's not specific enough. I have no idea what size belts to get, and what the actual diagram is. I'll keep looking. Thanks again for replying though!

Josh

I had a similar issue when I got my '84. It had a blown engine and someone else had dismantled it so I had no idea what belts I needed or how to install the pulleys.

The P30, and I assume your Dodge, shares its engine with regular trucks and pickups. I joined a site dedicated to full-sized Chevy trucks and got a lot of help there. I also searched on parts for vehicles that I knew my 454 also came installed in. I did get burned on my water pump, however. Apparently there was a subtle difference between the Suburban big block of the day and the P-30 chassis.

Good luck!
1984 Allegro M-31 (Dead Metal)

JoshAndBrandi
Explorer
Explorer