cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1990 Winnebago Chieftain - Dropping Basement Storage Bins

Joatha
Explorer
Explorer
The attachment point where the lower awning anchors are bolted in to the side of my 1990 Winnebago Chieftain has started to fail and the bolts are pulling out (this is not good). So, I need to replace the bolts with something that goes all the way through the wall and has a nut on it (at least I think that is the solution). I measured the point and its below interior floor level. So, doing that would not create an intrusion on the interior of the RV.

The only way to get access to the area where the bolts go through is to drop the basement storage. I don't anticipate that being too difficult. But, I've never done it before. So, I thought I would ask if anyone else had done it and to get some pointers and tips on removing them.

Any advice?

Thanks in advance!
2001 Bluebird Wanderlodge LX ME
6 REPLIES 6

jhilley
Explorer
Explorer
You need some kind of expansion anchor, not a toggle bolt. I would also start with 1/4".
2003 Winnebago Adventurer 38G F53 Chassis Solar Power
1999 Winnebago Brave 35C F53 Chassis Solar power
Handicap Equipped with Lift & Hospital Bed
1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport
1991 Jeep Wrangler Renegade

Joatha
Explorer
Explorer
Actually, I think I found some really nice toggle bolts that can handle up to 1000lbs or so in concrete (265lbs in drywall) and will take a 3/8" coarse thread bolt. They are good to about 3" of depth. I think they should work well with the fiberglass and assorted materials that are sandwiched together to make up the walls of my Chieftain.

So, I am going to give those a try and see how it goes.

Thanks for the advice. It made me re-think things and I found a better solution (I hope).
2001 Bluebird Wanderlodge LX ME

jhilley
Explorer
Explorer