cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tesla is thinking of making a Van. B plus MOHO?

Reisender
Nomad
Nomad
Elon says they are thinking about making a van when they catch up on battery capacity. It might work for a B plus motorhome. Access to the Supercharger network could give it an edge.

https://electrek.co/2021/02/11/elon-musk-tesla-electric-van-solar-powered-deployable-roof/
17 REPLIES 17

Reisender
Nomad
Nomad
Bordercollie wrote:
From what I have seen, car batteries for EV's consist of lots of little cylindrical batteries that add up in weight. As an RC modeler I use "Lipo" batteries that are quite expensive and require careful, slow, balanced charging. They require discharging to storage level 3.8 volts per cell. If we crash a model and damage a battery pack it may become unsafe to use or store. It may be that EP car batteries use safer, more robust, chemistries and the above may be or become irrelevant. It seems that miles between recharges is still a concern to EV users.

A concern sure. A problem? Depends what car you bought and expect it to do. An 800 kilometer road trip in our EV takes about the same as it did in our Grand Cherokee. We haven’t gone much further than that so can’t say. For us that’s all we need it to do. Different folks have different needs.

Bordercollie
Explorer
Explorer
From what I have seen, car batteries for EV's consist of lots of little cylindrical batteries that add up in weight. As an RC modeler I use "Lipo" batteries that are quite expensive and require careful, slow, balanced charging. They require discharging to storage level 3.8 volts per cell. If we crash a model and damage a battery pack it may become unsafe to use or store. It may be that EP car batteries use safer, more robust, chemistries and the above may be or become irrelevant. It seems that miles between recharges is still a concern to EV users.

Gjac
Explorer III
Explorer III