Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New 212QBW - Weight Concerns

shane_kelly55
Explorer
Explorer
Hey Guys,
Total Noob here so bear with me.

We were at the DFW RV show this past weekend and put a downpayment on an RV. Its a Jayco SLX 212QBW and its our first trailer.

My TV is a 2015 V6 Jeep Grand Cherokee but no tow package just the factory hitch. Its rated for 6200 lbs with a payload of 1050lbs. The TT dry is 4250 with a tongue % of 11%. Its only two of use and we're very weight aware. I am hoping we dont break 4800 lbs.

If my math is right @ 4800lbs we'll be about 510 lbs on the tongue. I thought i read payloads on the stick included full gas tank and 2 passengers of 150lbs each? If so, then i think i'm ok in the TV.

Is this a pipe dream or is this doable? The TV has a factory tranny cooler already but i was thinking of an auxiliary just before the rad.

Any and all advice would be appreciated.

Cheers....

Shane
7 REPLIES 7

Jebby14
Explorer
Explorer
mine gets the job done but I am deffinitly at the limits of the vehicle and I have the 4.7 and solid axles that jeep foolishly decided to do away with.
Q: Whats brown and sticky???

A: A Stick....

LarryJM
Explorer II
Explorer II
shane.kelly55 wrote:
I've verified the tow rating on the Jeep on the sticker on the door for that vehicle.

Never heard of that on a door sticker, can you post a pic of exactly what you are looking at???

It says 6200lbs and 620 for the Tongue Weight.

Going by the usual math using 15% as the TW, i can only tow 4000lbs loaded and thats pushing it (600lbs).

Very dissapointed in this Jeep.

Larry
2001 standard box 7.3L E-350 PSD Van with 4.10 rear and 2007 Holiday Rambler Aluma-Lite 8306S Been RV'ing since 1974.
RAINKAP INSTALL////ETERNABOND INSTALL

shane_kelly55
Explorer
Explorer
I've verified the tow rating on the Jeep on the sticker on the door for that vehicle.

It says 6200lbs and 620 for the Tongue Weight.