cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Does this roof need work?

frank33v
Explorer
Explorer
We looked at a fifth wheel yesterday and really like the floor plan. But it has some delamination that makes me think at one point it had a leak. The delimitation is on one section in the back left corner and the ladder on the back wall in that corner seems to be loose. However I see no signs of water penetration inside. No musty smell, no soft walls or floors/roof. The cabinets have a dead spot in the corner of the wall with the delamination. I removed draws and got into the area and it is clean and solid.

It's under consignment and I was told that the roof was replaced at some point. It is a 2004 Keystone Challenger. I am a newbie to evaluating these things. Is it possible for a small leak to cause delimitation, the source of the leak be fixed, and everything else be ok in the long run??

I have pictures of the delimitation and a little video of the chaffing that occurs on the roof when I push on it or rub my finger on it. It seems dried out and perhaps needing to be replaced again? We really like the trailer otherwise...30' fifth wheel with good floorpan and a king bed! Thoughts..

Link to delamination

Video of roof

Picture of whole roof
20 REPLIES 20

frank33v
Explorer
Explorer
Bumpyroad wrote:
downtheroad wrote:
Kind of sounds like you have already made up your mind and are wanting others to verify your decision. (I could be wrong).

Anyway, good luck with it all and with your search for an RV.

I don't think that you are wrong,. OP just wants somebody to assure him it is a wonderful buy. then a few years down the road when it junks out, he will have somebody else than himself to blame.

bumpy

How nice of you try to make an assumption on my motivations rather than just try to be constructive. You are completely wrong. I posted more information to try to clarify.

I appreciate all the feedback here. We are not purchasing this camper.