cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Full time stationary living (2015 DRV Mobile Suites 41RSSB4)

Tammie63
Explorer II
Explorer II

New to this community and looking for information 🙂 Considering purchasing a DRV that has been parked and never on the road. It has been minimally used, mostly as a model in a park in Rancho California. I'm not planning on traveling with the DRV but living stationary full-time in a park or on family property. Just wondering what to look out for in having this rig moved. I can only imagine that it must be thoroughly inspected for road worthiness? Just looking for an affordable way to continue to live in SoCal. Also, $50,000 is the asking price. Is this reasonable? I appreciate any sage advice (total newbie here)!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

We have owned many rvs and the Mobile Suite was hands down the worst rv we ever owned.  Finally when the roof was coming off we got rid of it.  We ended up with a Jayco product which has turned out to be the best.  Good luck to you.  Betsy.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13

laknox
Nomad
Nomad

Unless you're not moving it very far, you'd almost certaintly need to replace the tires.  Have someone knowledgable check for dry rot, though.  Also, some rigs need to have a good battery(ies) for proper function, so you might have to replace it/those as well.  Need to check the roof for any signs of leaks or any tears in the membrane.  Check the flooring inside for soft spots which would indicate leaks and rot.  If there are any "wrinkles" in the outside walls, that could be signs of delamination, which is bad.  Frankly, you might want to check with the NRVIA to find a certified inspector that can give this RV a good once-over and give you a report.  www.nrvia.org to find an inspector close to you.

Lyle

2022 GMC Sierra 3500 HD Denali Crew Cab 4x4 Duramax
B&W OEM Companion & Gooseneck Kit
2017 KZ Durango 1500 D277RLT
1936 John Deere Model A