cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie and a 2002 keystone cougar

babun
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, I'm a newbie RV'er and I have a 2002 Keystone Cougar 5th wheel.

Strange to me, is that it has on the tanks/battery check monitor,
a tank listed as "Galley", along with the black, grey, fresh, bat condition. Sure enuff there is a third smaller valve in the drain
pipe. Should I leave this one open, as it seems to fill up the galley tank fast while doing dishes and the such.
The rv is for now set up to stay, and has hard pvc pipe connected to the dump pipe into the sewer pipe of the camp grounds.

Thanks ahead of time.!!
4 REPLIES 4

bpounds
Nomad
Nomad
babun wrote:
Thanks, I was thinking also, that I could leave both open-grey and galley, because of the hard pipe.
Shouldn't get any back flow of smells, right? There should be Ptraps on both inside the TT.

Some folks say they get smells from the sewer, if they leave the valves open. Some say bugs can crawl up. I think there are too many variables to really know if you will. It's the kind of thing you can just try, and if it is unpleasant, change. There are traps on all your gray/galley fixtures. But odors might still come from the vents on the roof, and waft down through your windows/doors. And some campground systems are more gassy than others. As I said, just too many variables to know. The convenience of uninterrupted showers should be worth the time it takes to try it and see.
2006 F250 Diesel
2011 Keystone Cougar 278RKSWE Fiver

babun
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks, I was thinking also, that I could leave both open-grey and galley, because of the hard pipe.
Shouldn't get any back flow of smells, right? There should be Ptraps on both inside the TT.

bpounds
Nomad
Nomad