cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie here with some hitch questions

ibboatin28
Explorer
Explorer
Just bought my first camper it's a used 2014 5th wheel Primetime Crusader 295RST.
I'm going to pull it with a 2015 Chevy 3500 DRW so I should have plenty of truck. It's equipped with a B&W goose neck hitch which I would like to use. In talking with many salesman before making my purchase most said I would be fine with the goose neck adapter. 2 salesman however said it would crack the unit where the overhang attaches to the body of the camper.

Whats the general consensus on this.

I thank you all in advance for any help that can be offered.
17 REPLIES 17

laknox
Nomad
Nomad
Old-Biscuit wrote:
stew47 wrote:
Is there a link to broken box due to the Anderson? I really like my Anderson and hope it's not an issue

Here is one posted couple weeks ago.

LINK

FWIW, this is a pic of the =pinbox= that flexed while using an Andersen and adapter, not the pickup bed. Same poster said he saw a Mor-Ryde pinbox that was also deformed while using an Andersen.

Bed flexing and damage have been reported by both Andersen and B&W owners. B&W offers spacer blocks to transfer forces to the bottom of the bed corrugations instead of the top. Not to open an old can of worms, but the pin =weight= is carried by the center tube down to the frame mount. The base just stabilizes the hitch system's fore/aft movements produced by the normal flexing of the under-bed hitch mount. The reduced thickness of the bed floor in later models is what causes the bed deformations. (This info is from a B&W engineer.)

Lyle
2022 GMC Sierra 3500 HD Denali Crew Cab 4x4 Duramax
B&W OEM Companion & Gooseneck Kit
2017 KZ Durango 1500 D277RLT
1936 John Deere Model A
International Flying Farmers 64 Year Member

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
stew47 wrote:
Cummins12V98 wrote:
stew47 wrote: